Seed to Harvest - Octavia E. Butler

Seed to Harvest

By Octavia E. Butler

  • Release Date: 2014-03-27
  • Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy


The most manipulative minds on earth are establishing a new world order...

The complete Patternist series - the acclaimed science fiction epic of a world transformed by a secret race of telepaths and their devastating rise to power. Includes the novels Wild Seed, Mind of my Mind, Clay's Ark, Patternmaster. The 'grand dame of science fiction' and multi-award-winning author, Octavia E. Butler will enthral fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Colson Whitehead's The Underground Railroad.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times

'One of the most significant literary artists of the 20th century' Junot Diaz

The Patternist series, collected here in one edition, chart an epic secret history that's roots lie in the dawn of civilization, and whose tangled branches reach far into our future.

It begins when two immortals meet. Doro is an entity who changes bodies like clothes, killing his hosts; Anyanwu can change her very shape, absorbing bullets as easily as she can heal with a kiss. Their relationship, albeit as marked by hate as by love, will change the world.

After years of selected breeding, their 'Patternists' are becoming increasing harder to control, and harder to hide from society. They will eventually bring humanity to the brink of extinction and beyond, into a nightmare that Doro and Anyanwu could never have anticipated.

What readers are saying about SEED TO HARVEST:

'Could not put it down. This is science fiction at its very best'

'The concepts are breathtakingly ambitious, with wonderfully complex and realistic characters. Outstanding'

'Butler has created, in the four novels, a rich world of compelling depth and scope'